Membership Requirements

Senate Membership Requirements 

The voting members of the Faculty Senate shall be comprised of the following:

  a. Ex officio voting members: The President of the University, the Provost, the Chair of the Faculty, the Vice Chair of the Faculty, the Secretary of the Faculty, the chair of the Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee, the chair of the Undergraduate Council and the chair of the Graduate Council shall be voting members of the Faculty Senate. In addition, one member shall represent the Vice Presidents, and one member shall represent the Deans.

  b. Elected members: Elected members of the Faculty Senate will hold office for two years, beginning on June 1 of the year in which they are elected, in accordance  with the following:

   i. Twenty members shall be elected, prior to June 1 of the odd-numbered years, by the General Faculty. These shall be designated Senators-at-Large.

  ii. A minimum of one member shall be elected prior to June 1 of the even- numbered years by each College Faculty. General Faculty members not affiliated with any college shall conduct an election as if they constitute a common college. Elected members of the Faculty Senate in addition to the twenty elected by the General Faculty and the ones elected by each College Faculty, including those acting as a common college, shall be apportioned among the several, but not necessarily all colleges, essentially in proportion to the number in each College Faculty. Such apportionment is to be established in accord with the census of the General Faculty by the Committee on Faculty Membership.

  c. Seven students: four students selected annually by the Associated Students of the University of Arizona (ASUA) and three students, selected annually by the Graduate and Professional Student Council (GPSC) in whatever manner those bodies decide.

  d. Year-to-Year Appointed Professional: one member of the Appointed Professionals Advisory Council (APAC) of the University of Arizona shall be appointed annually by the Chair of APAC. The member will hold voting membership and be afforded the full privileges thereof.

  e. The Faculty Senate shall fill a vacant Senate seat using the following procedure:

i.)  If a Senate seat is vacated due to a Senator's resignation or inability to serve, two circumstances apply: either (a) there were unelected candidates for the position in the election in which the unable-to-serve Senator was elected; or (b) there were no unelected candidates available in that Senator's constituency.

For all vacancies occurring under situation (a), the Committee on Elections will ask the unelected candidate receiving the next highest number of votes to become the successor. If this individual is unavailable, then the next highest vote recipient will be asked to serve, repeating until no unelected candidates are available. All such successors will serve until the return of the regularly elected Senator or until the end of the vacated term, whichever occurs first, but no less than one full semester in any case.

For vacancies occurring under situation (b), two types occur as follows:

   1) The vacated term to be filled is longer than one semester, in which case the Committee on Elections will be asked to conduct a special election in the constituency of the vacated seat, complete with nominating petitions and written or electronic ballot voting. An individual elected in this way will serve to the end of the unexpired term of the vacated seat.

   2) The vacated term is for one semester, in which case the Committee on Committees will be asked to provide the name of an individual from the vacated Senator's constituency who is willing to serve. An individual selected in this way will serve only until the end of the then current semester.

ii.)  If vacancies occur because there were not enough candidates from a given constituency in an election, the Chair of the Faculty and the Vice Chair shall seek appropriate faculty members from that constituency who are willing to serve, and present these candidates to the Senate Executive Committee for approval, to fill those vacancies.