Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee

  • The Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee (SPBAC) in consultation and dialogue with the President, the Provost, and the University community, supports and enhances the success of the University through thoughtful and informed advice relating to: strategic planning, assessment of institutional priorities, review of budgetary policies, and the evaluation of programs and services. The SPBAC chair shall provide regular reports to the Faculty Senate.

    In partnership with the University, SPBAC:

    1. Develops and disseminates the University’s strategic plan.
    2. Identifies issues that facilitate or impede the pursuit of the University’s mission.
    3. Provides advice on budget policies, significant budgetary actions and institutional priorities consistent with the strategic plan of the University.
    4. Evaluates the effectiveness of plans, policies, and the assessments that affect the entire infrastructure of the University.
    5. Develops guidelines for setting planning and budgeting priorities.

    About SPBAC

    SPBAC Presentations

    SPBAC Resources

    Membership Requirements

    The Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee’s (SPBAC) membership is comprised of twenty-one voting members and thirteen (13) ex-officio non-voting members.

     a. Eleven of the voting members are faculty: the Chair of the Faculty; six faculty elected by the general faculty for staggered, three-year terms; three faculty selected by the Chair of the Faculty in consultation with the President for three-year rotating terms; and the SPBAC chair. The SPBAC chair is appointed by the President in consultation with the Chair of the Faculty for a two-year term. The President and Chair of the Faculty may also select a SPBAC co-chair from the existing SPBAC membership; under such circumstances, the co-chairs have one shared vote. SPBAC chairs must have served at least one year on the committee prior to appointment as chair. The SPBAC chair may be re-appointed for one additional term, with the consent of a majority of SPBAC voting members.

    b. If an elected faculty representative to SPBAC resigns or becomes ineligible to serve, the candidate who received the next highest number of votes in the same election will be offered the vacancy, with ties broken by the Chair of the Faculty. If there is no eligible candidate, the Chair of Faculty will fill the vacancy by appointing a member of the General Faculty to serve for the remainder of the term. 

    c. The remaining ten voting members are appointed: two deans, two representatives from the President’s cabinet, and two non-faculty staff are appointed by the President for three-year rotating terms. Representatives of the Classified Staff Council, Appointed Professionals Advisory Council, Graduate and Professional Student Council and the President of the Associated Students of the University of Arizona (who automatically sits on SPBAC) serve at the will of their governing organizations.

    d. The thirteen (13) ex-officio (non-voting) members are comprised individuals with expertise in strategic planning/budgeting by title and by responsibility as follows. Those designated by title are: Senior Vice President and Provost; Senior Vice President Business Affairs and CFO; President, University of Arizona Foundation; and President, Alumni Relations. The University of Arizona President, in consultation with the Chair of the Faculty, will appoint 9 individuals with senior leadership responsibilites drawn from areas that include institutional analysis and budget; student affairs and success; diversity and inclusion; research and health sciences; international and global affairs; communications, marketing, and public relations; and human resources.