# Constitution and Bylaws Committee Changes

Faculty Senate April 7, 2025

Chair: Katharine Zeiders

Members: Senator Ted Downing, Senator Alex Braithwaite, Parliamentarian Mark Stegeman, Kathleen Kennedy, and Vice Provost Andrea Romero Change #1 (Green) Article VI, Section 1, Section 3, Section 7(c); Article VII, Section 2(d)(e), Section 4(a)

## Changing UArizona to University of Arizona and removing old names of Staff Council

#### Change #2 (Blue) (Bylaws, Article V, Section 9)

# Changing Nominating Committee Procedure for Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure (CAFT) ballot selection Section 9.

The Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure shall be composed of twelve tenured or continuing members of the General Faculty other than deans of any rank, four of whom shall be elected each year by the General Faculty for a term of three years. Any individual college may have no more than three members on the committee at any given time. The slate of candidates presented to the General Faculty shall be selected in the following

a. The Nominating Committee will prepare a list of names of all eligible faculty who submitted self-nominations and are based in colleges with no more than two CAFT members already due to continue serving on the committee, containing not fewer than two times the number to be elected. After consultation with the Chair of the Faculty and the President, the committee will reduce the list to a slate of twice the number tobe elected, giving due consideration to diversity. For each person listed, a brief description of relevant academic experience, qualifications and background will be provided. This information will also appear on the ballot submitted to the General Faculty along with the names and colleges of continuing members. If the outcome of an election cannot be determined because of a tie vote, a runoff election shall take place.

## Change #2 (Yellow) (Bylaws, Article VIII, Section 2 (e)) Changing to include Postdoc representation to Faculty Senate

thereof Representative of the Postdoctoral scholars: one member of the University of Arizona Postdoctoral Association (UAPA) shall be appointed annually by the Chair of the UAPA. The member will hold voting membership and be afforded the full privileges thereof.