The University of Arizona® Faculty Senate Executive Committee 1216 E. Mabel St. (PO Box 210456) 621.1342 facultycenter@email.arizona.edu Minutes: April 15, 2024 3:00-5:00 p.m. VIA ZOOM

- Present: M Hymel (Chair), H Cui, J Dudas, T Dysart, W Fink, L Hudson, J Jones, K Little, K Maggert, R Marx, H Nelson, T Ottusch, C Rankin, C Simmons, M Stegeman (Parliamentarian), S Su, J Vetter, S Willis, and L Ziurys
- Absent: J Bernick, J Frumkin, G Heileman, and A Sanchez
- Guest: L Sandoval

Call to Order

Chair Hymel called the meeting to order at 3:01 p.m.

Approval of the Agenda

The meeting agenda was approved.

Approval of the Minutes of March 18, 2024

The minutes of March 18, 2024 were approved as written.

Review agenda for the May 6, 2024 Faculty Senate Meeting

Committee members reviewed the draft Faculty Senate agenda for the upcoming May 6, 2024 Faculty Senate meeting. Items were deleted and added. Time allotments were given for each item. Committee members discussed several sensitive and confidential topics. The Faculty Senate agenda was finalized and approved.

Provost's Report – Ron Marx

Marx reported that one of the pieces of legislation that passed and was signed by Governor Hobbs relates to students. HB 2178 requires an institution to find out from students if there are any clubs or organizations on campus where students do not wish for their fees to be bequeathed. The new administrative burden states, "provide each student who is charged fees with a reasonable opportunity to select one or more student organizations or clubs or both to which the University may not allocate the students' pro rata share of fee monies." This means figuring out a way to survey every student to see if they object to any organization and then figure a way to allocate the money that is collected. Marx and Arnold are working through the budget issues and met with the units involved. Meetings are fifteen minutes long and ten meetings were held today with deans of the affected colleges. Announcements will be made next week. The hiring freeze ends at the start of the fiscal year. Colleges and units will be given a number for their budgets and there will be no deficit spending. Arnold would be the person to answer more specific questions about the budget.

Chair of the Faculty – Leila Hudson

Hudson discussed the candidates recommended by the Nominating Committee for the Committee on Faculty Membership and the Committee on Elections. Members had no objections to any candidate. Hudson appointed two faculty to the Committee on Faculty Membership and one to the Committee on Elections. Letters of appointment will be sent to those appointed. Secretary Dysart noted that the terms for the Committee on Faculty Membership need to be staggered to align with the governing documents.

Vice Chair of the Faculty – Mona Hymel

Members reviewed the candidate statements for the Faculty Senate elections being held at the May 6, 2024 Faculty Senate meeting. Dysart asked if incoming Senators were offered a chance to declare their interest in serving. Faculty Center staff replied that only sitting Senators have ever been asked to submit Declarations. Committee members would like to include incoming Senators the opportunity to declare. All incoming to Faculty Senators will be contacted so they have an opportunity to declare their candidacy.

DEI – Tad Pace and Spencer Willis

No report.

SAPC – Tim Ottusch and Kristin Little No report.

APPC – Keith Maggert

No report.

<u> RPC – Lucy Ziurys</u>

No report.

<u>C11 – Wolfgang Fink</u> No report.

<u> ASUA – Alyssa Sanchez</u>

Sanchez was absent.

GPSC – Jeremy Bernick

Bernick was absent.

UArizona Staff Council – Jeffrey Jones

No report.

Undergraduate Council – Holly Nelson

Nelson articulated the proposals listed for consideration by Faculty Senate.

Graduate Council – Hong Cui and Sanlyn Buxner

No report.

UWGEC – Jeremy Vetter

No report.

SPBAC – Greg Heileman and Cindy Rankin No report.

Information Technology – Jeremy Frumkin No report.

Secretary of the Faculty – Tessa Dysart No report.

President's Report – Jon Dudas No report.

<u>Adjournment</u> The meeting was adjourned at 5:03 p.m.