

FACULTY CENTER

1216 East Mabel Street PO Box 210456 Tucson, AZ 85721

Ofc: 520-621-1342 Fax: 520-621-8844

facultygovernance.arizona.edu

Committee on Faculty Membership

2022-2023 Annual Report

Members:

Prof. Tessa L. Dysart, **CHAIR**, Secretary of the Faculty Dr. Dana Narter, SBS (dismissed by Chair in October 2022) Dr. Dan McDonald, CALS (dismissed by Chair in October 2022) Dr. Andrea Romero, *ex officio*/non-voting Dr. Judd Ruggill, COH (dismissed by Chair in October 2022 but reinstated following discussions)

Our committee met in July to consider a request from research faculty at RII to receive representation in the Senate. We determined that under the plain language of our Bylaws, Article VIII, Sec. 2. This decision was conveyed to the Senate at the September meeting.

After the RII Senate seat was discussed in Senate and the Secretary clarified that the Committee on Faculty Membership is responsible for apportionment of the Senate per the faculty constitution, the Chair of the Faculty dismissed three members of the Committee—Drs. Narter, McDonald, and Ruggill. The dismissed members sent a letter to the Chair explaining that under the Constitution and Bylaws they should retain their seats because they were in the middle of their terms. Dr. Ruggill's term ends in 2023, and Drs. Narter and McDonald had de facto started new terms at the start of the 2022 academic year. The Chair reappointed Dr. Ruggill, but did not reappoint the other committee members or replace them on the Committee. Thus, the Committee lacked a quorum to act this for the majority of the academic year.

Respectfully submitted

Tessa L. Dysart, Chair Committee on Faculty Membership

