

Committee on Conciliation

Faculty Center 1216 E. Mabel Street Tucson, AZ 85721-0456 Tel: 520-621-1342 Fax: 520-621-8844 facsen@email.arizona.edu

Friday, April 26, 2024

## Committee on Conciliation ANNUAL REPORT 2023-2024

Committee Members	Department	College	Term
Dr. Keith A. Maggert, chair	Molecular & Cell Biol	COS	2023-2025
Dr. Albrecht Classen, vice chair	German Studies	СОН	2022-2024
Dr. Duarte Diaz	Animal/Biomed Sci	CALS	2022-2024
Mr. Lawrence Gipe	School of Art		2023-2025
Ms. Ashley Wright	Cooperative Extension		2023-2025
Dr. Lynda Zwinger	English	SBS	2022-2024
Dr. Cynthia White, outgoing chair	Classics	СОН	2021-2023+
Dr. M. Grandner, outgoing v-chair	Psychiatry	COM-T	2021-2023+
Dr. Shufang Su	Physics	COS	2021-2023+
toutoping members available advitte incoming members during avances 2022			

<sup>†</sup> outgoing members overlapped with incoming members during summer 2023

There was one case referred to the Committee between academic years 2022-2023 and 2023-2024.

**Overview:** Recommendation for termination for cause of a tenured faculty member was sent by Provost Liesl Folks to President Robbins. A letter announcing the recommendation was sent to the faculty member, with the direction that an appeal would be sent to the Committee on Conciliation. The faculty member appealed, and the Office of the President sent the relevant information to the Committee.

Two Committee members reviewed the documents and met with the faculty member on June 13, 2023. The faculty member made three requests. The President declined to meet with the Committee, therefore the Committee sent analysis of the Provost's recommendation and the faculty member's requests to the Office of the President on July 5, 2023.

**Outcome:** Partial success. The President met with the faculty member on 8/8/2023 and verbally accepted two of the terms (a change of home unit, cessation of the process of termination) and declined the third (re-evaluation of the annual performance review). The President issued a final written decision on 8/11/2023.

Respectfully submitted,

Keith A. Maggert, Ph.D., chair