THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA® General Faculty Standing Committee Faculty Center 1216 E. Mabel St. - PO Box 210456 520-621-1342 (Fax: 520-621-8844)

Committee of Eleven Annual Report 2022-2023

Members:

Dr. Wolfgang Fink, Chair, Electrical & Computer Engineering (6/18-5/24) Dr. John Milbauer, Vice Chair, Fred Fox School of Music (6/21-5/23)

- Dr. Matthews Abraham, English (6/22-5/24)
- Dr. Theodore Downing, Research Innovation & Impact (6/22-5/23)
- Dr. Ravi Goyal, Animal and Comparative Biomedical Sciences (6/22-5/24)
- Dr. Laura Hollengreen, School of Architecture (6/19-5/23)
- Dr. Leila Hudson, Chair of the Faculty, School of Middle Eastern Studies (6/21-5/23)
- Dr. Barbara Kosta, German Studies (6/21-5/23)
- Dr. Caleb Simmons, Religious Studies and Classics (6/20-5/24)
- Dr. Shufang Su, Physics (6/21-5/23)
- Dr. Marlys Witte, Surgery (6/20-5/24)

Sedona Heidinger, GPSC (6/21-5/23) Carly Snell, ASUA (6/21-5/23)

The Committee of Eleven (C11) was established in 1947 by President James Byron McCormick to obtain advice from the faculty. When the Faculty Senate and Constitution were established in 1948, the Committee of Eleven was defined constitutionally and membership determined by faculty-wide election. C11 is unique in higher education governance structures and is independent of other faculty or administrative committees or organizations. The Committee of Eleven is University-wide and does not have a prescribed agenda.

Faculty Constitution Article V, Section 3 provides:

The Committee of Eleven shall:

- a. Initiate, promote, and stimulate study and action dealing with and looking toward solution of situations and problems of interest and concern to the faculty and to the University.
- b. Make reports to the General Faculty or the Faculty Senate.
- c. Speak for the General Faculty as and when authorized by the General Faculty.

The 2022-2023 Academic Year continued to be an extremely busy year for C11 due to the ongoing integration of UAGC (University of Arizona Global Campus) into the University of Arizona, the approval of several degree programs and the iSchool, several cases of alleged retaliation against faculty members, and continued discussion of the definition and implementation of shared governance and faculty governance. These activities were overshadowed by the tragic murder of our colleague Dr. Thomas Meixner, Department Head of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences on October 5, 2022, and the subsequent Vote of No Confidence issued by the Faculty Senate that resulted in significant adjustments to the senior leadership of the University. C11 continued

to meet regularly throughout the Academic Year 2022-2023 via Zoom only, and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future.

The most significant projects undertaken this year by C11 were the following:

- (1) Per the request of the Chair of the Faculty, conducted full investigation of CAFT election concerns raised by Drs. Abraham, Lin, and Maggert on 07/28/2022. The investigation was conducted by a sub-committee of C11 (8 members including and led by Chair and Vice Chair of C11), which lasted the entire Fall Semester of 2022;
- (2) Finalized suggested revisions to UHAP 5.2 ("Annual Performance Reviews Of Administrative Personnel") drafted 4 years ago by C11; presented to the Faculty Senate with subsequent adoption by overwhelming majority vote; and several meetings with Dr. Helena Rodriguez (Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer) and Dr. Celina Ramirez (VP University Initiatives, former UA Chief Compliance Officer) to facilitate final acceptance and implementation of the recommended revisions to UHAP 5.2 (still ongoing).

In addition, C11 focused during AY 2022-2023 on persistent challenges to shared governance, integration of UAGC into the University of Arizona, and cases of grievance/retaliation. Several statements/letters were issued regarding these and other matters (for more details, please refer to the relevant documents/meeting minutes on the C11 web page). Here is an unranked list of topics that were investigated, discussed, and acted upon by C11 throughout AY 2022-2023:

- Murder of Dr. Thomas Meixner;
- Interim Report produced by General Faculty Committee On University Safety For All in response to the murder of Dr. Thomas Meixner, and subsequent committee resignation;
- Proposed UITS Centralization issues;
- UAGC issues and associated WSCUC site visit and accreditation process;
- iSchool issues;
- Faculty grievance issues;
- Shared Governance issues;
- Support letter for Dr. Sonja Lanehart.

It is customary for C11 to invite guests to its regular meetings to engage in discussion of pertinent issues with committee members. During the 2022-2023 Academic Year the list of guests included:

- Dr. Celina Ramirez, VP University Initiatives, former UA Chief Compliance Officer;
- Dr. Helena Rodrigues, Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer;
- J.P. Roczniak, UA Foundation President;
- Edward Nasser, UA Chief Procurement Officer;
- Dr. Keiron Bailey, College of Education;
- Austin Yamada, President of UA-ARC (declined C11-invitation);
- Dean of Students Kendal Washington White (declined C11-invitation).

It is our hope and expectation that in the Academic Year 2023-2024 the committee, comprised of new and continuing members, will continue its work guided by the enthusiasm, openness, and dedication to faculty and university issues demonstrated this year.

Respectfully submitted

Dr. Wolfgang Fink and Dr. John Milbauer Chair and Vice Chair, Committee of Eleven (C11)