

Harshbarger Building Room 122 1133 E. James E. Rogers Way P.O. Box 210011 Tucson, AZ 85721-0011 Office 520-621-7120 Fax 520-621-1422

14 March 2023

Leila Hudson and Mona Hymel Chair and Vice Chair of the Faculty The University of Arizona

Dear Professors Hudson and Hymel:

As Interim Chair of the Department of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences, I am obliged to advise the University of Arizona Faculty Senate of the following approved resolution during our department meeting that took place on 13 March 2023.

The approved resolution and votes reported in the affirmative, negative, and abstentions are as follows, in italic text:

In reference to the dissolution of the General Faculty Senate Committee for Safety of All, the voting members of the Department of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences hereby resolve that:

- We support the work of the General Faculty Senate Committee for Safety of All, and thank them for their service in the goal of improving safety at the University of Arizona
- We express our concern for the reasons cited by the committee regarding its dissolution, as documented in the final committee letter sent to the Faculty Senate President dated 3 March 2023.
- We express our disappointment that this committee did not receive the full support and cooperation of the mentioned University of Arizona administrative units and personnel necessary to complete its important work.
- We request that the pending report of the external investigative agency PAX LLC be made fully available to the public upon its completion, for purposes of transparency.
- We request that the faculty senate consider the above statements with respect to any senate action(s) forward.

The Department of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences will report this resolution to the Dean of the College of Science, the Chair and Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate, the President of the University of Arizona, and the Principal Investigator of PAX LLC.

VOTES IN THE AFFIRMATIVE: Larry Winter, Eyad Atallah, Jennifer McIntosh, Ty Ferre, Yang Song, Baike Xi, Ave Arellano, Hoshin Gupta, Xubin Zeng, Guo-Yue Niu, Bo Guo, Ali Behrangi, Peter Troch, Victor Baker, Jim Yeh, and Christopher Castro

VOTES IN OPPOSITION: None

ABSTENTIONS: None



We request the Chair and Vice Chair report this approved resolution to the full faculty senate. We further request this document be duly recorded as part of the faculty senate record.

Please also be advised this correspondence is also being provided to the other designated parties I am obliged to inform, in accordance with the approved resolution.

Respectfully,

Christopher L. Castro

Professor and Interim Head

Churge L. C.