

## **FACULTY CENTER**

1216 E. Mabel Street Tucson, AZ 85721-0456

Tel: 520.621.1342 Fax: 520.621.8844

facultycenter@email.arizona.edu

## THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA® General Faculty Standing Committee

Faculty Center 1216 E. Mabel St. - PO Box 210456 621-1342 (Fax: 621-8844)

## Committee of Eleven Annual Report 2017-18

Dr. Steven Schwartz, <u>CHAIR</u> (6/13--5/19), Ama Chemistry/Biochemistry

Prof. Moisés Paiewonsky, VICE CHAIR

(1/15-5/19), Music

Dr. Matthew Abraham (6/16-5/18) English

Madeline Dunlap (7/17-5/18) ASUA

Dr. Javier Duran (6/15-5/19) Spanish & Portuguese

Dr. Aileen Feng (6/17-5/19) French & Italian

Amanjot Gill (8/17-5/18) GPSC

Dr. John Hildebrand (5/00-5/18), Neuroscience

Dr. Lynn Nadel (6/14-5/18), Chair of the Faculty

Dr. Marcia Rieke (10/15-5/18) Astronomy

Dr. Arthur Sanders (6/15-5/19) Emer. Medicine

Prof. Roy Spece (6/16-5/18) Law

Dr. Marlys Witte (6/80-5/05, 6/06-5/16, 6/17-

5/19) Surgery

The committee was established in 1947 by President James Byron McCormick to obtain advice from the faculty. When the Faculty Senate and Constitution were established in 1948, the Committee of Eleven was defined constitutionally and membership determined by faculty-wide election. It is unique in higher education governance structures and is independent of other faculty or administrative committees or organizations. The Committee of Eleven is University-wide and does not have a prescribed agenda.

Faculty Constitution Article V, Section 3 provides:

## The Committee of Eleven shall:

- a. Initiate, promote, and stimulate study and action dealing with and looking toward solution of situations and problems of interest and concern to the faculty and to the University.
- b. Make reports to the General Faculty or the Faculty Senate.

c. Speak for the General Faculty as and when authorized by the General Faculty.

The Committee of Eleven's focus for 2017-201 Academic Year included the following topics:

- RCM third year review, subcommittees S. Schwartz, M. Paiewonsky, A. Feng, and M. Rieke.
- Faculty annual performance and post tenure review
- Facilities and technology Karen Williams & Derek Masseth (November 17, 2017)
- University Marketing Plan Bill Walker, Tony Proudfoot, and Christ Sigurdson (December 1, 2017)
- Appointment and review of upper administration and deans
- Plans for diversity and inclusion on campus
- Strategic Planning process Lisa Ordóñez (January 26, 2018)
- Senior Vice President for Research, Discovery, and Innovation
- Athletics Ricardo Valerdi, FAR Representative (April 20, 2018)

In addition we have had multiple meetings with President Robbins, Provost Comrie, Interim Provost Goldberg. This has been a year of significant ferment on campus with the changes President Robbins is bringing to campus. We note that President Robbins and his team have taken the content of our White paper on campus organization seriously. As noted we have been included in the RCM review committees and the Strategic Planning process.

Respectfully submitted,

Steven Schwartz, Chair

Committee of Eleven