Research Policy Committee

  • The Research Policy Committee considers matters and forwards action items to the Faculty Senate relating to secrecy, research, conflict of interest, data retention, intellectual property, research ethics, research parks, interaction with industry, patent policy, Arizona Research Laboratory, research institutes, human and animal research, and safety. One faculty member of the Research Policy Committee shall also sit on the Vice President for Research’s Intellectual Property Committee.

    Membership Requirements

    The Research Policy Committee shall consist of seven General Faculty members, a majority of whom must be members of the Faculty Senate. The committee members shall be appointed by the Vice Chair of the Faculty, after consultation with the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, from names suggested by the Nominating Committee or other members of the General Faculty. Student members of this committee shall be nominated by the Associated Students of the University of Arizona (ASUA) and by the Graduate and Professional Student Council (GPSC). Members of this committee shall serve one-year terms.