The University of Arizona Committee on Elections Faculty Center 1216 E. Mabel St. - PO Box 210456 621-1342 Fax: 621-8844 facultycenter@email.arizona.edu

> February 27, 2020 Press Release

Spring 2020 UArizona General Faculty General Election Results

The Committee on Elections verified election results February 24-26, 2020 and is pleased to announce the results of the Spring 2020 General Faculty General Election. There were 818 voters of the 3,600 eligible to vote, or 22.72%. Names are listed alphabetically first for the elected candidates and then for the unelected candidates. The results are below. Please note that a majority vote constitutes 50% + 1 of the total votes cast for each seat.

PASSED - Bylaws change to establish a new Senate Standing Committee for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Affects: Bylaws, Article VIII, Section 4 to add part e.

ARTICLE VIII The Faculty Senate

Section 4 Faculty Senate Standing Committees: Membership and Terms Part e:

"Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee. This committee considers issues and forwards action items to Faculty Senate that relate to diversity, equity, or inclusion (e.g., policies that foster an environment of civility and mutual respect, issues affecting diversity from an overall university perspective, external requirements on the university affecting diversity, administration of university affirmative action grants and awards, etc.). The chair of DEI is appointed by the Chair of the Faculty."

NOTE: A two-thirds majority of the votes cast is necessary for adoption.

656-YES, 133-NO = 83.14%

*elected

CHAIR OF THE FACULTY

*Jessica J Summers *Steve Schwartz Dalila Ayoun

The above two candidates will be put forward on the Runoff Election ballot to fill the one seat available for Chair of the Faculty. No one person received a majority of the votes cast.

VICE CHAIR OF THE FACULTY

*Melanie Hingle Leila Hudson Due to a tie vote, the Elections Committee drew a lot by coin toss to determine the winner on February 25, 2020.

SECRETARY OF THE FACULTY

*Michael Brewer

COMMITTEE OF ELEVEN

*Sonia Colina *Evangeline Dowling *Wolfgang Fink *Caleb Simmons *Marlys Witte Lee Anne Denny Ravi Goyal Kenneth Knox Benjamin Lee Arthur Sanders

COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC FREEDOM AND TENURE

*Jamie Edgin *Samira Farwaneh *Lynn Gerald *Dian Li Phillip Kuo Keith A Maggert Edward Martin Benjamin Renquist

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

*Heidi Mansour *Ravi Goyal

STRATEGIC PLANNING AND BUDGET ADVISORY COMMITTEE (SPBAC)

*Sonia Colina *Indraneel Ghosh *Lucinda Rankin *Caleb Simmons

The above four candidates will be put forward on the Runoff Election ballot to fill the two seats available on SPBAC. No one person received a majority of the votes cast. These six SPBAC candidates will not be put forward. Jamie Edgin Wolfgang Fink Ravi Goyal Johann Rafelski Martin Reimann Ramin Yadegari

FACULTY SENATOR, COLLEGE REPRESENTATIVES

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE AND LIFE SCIENCES

*Ravi Goyal *Daniel McDonald *Timothy Ottusch

COLLEGE OF ARCHITECTURE, PLANNING AND LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE *Andrew Sanderford

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

*S Mae Smith

One seat remains vacant. One seat will be available for the Runoff Election. Please consider submitting a declaration of candidacy.

ELLER COLLEGE OF MANAGEMENT

*William T Neumann *Martin Reimann

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

*Wolfgang Fink

One seat remains vacant. One seat will be available for the Runoff Election. Please consider submitting a declaration of candidacy.

COLLEGE OF FINE ARTS

*Jay Rosenblatt

One seat remains vacant. One seat will be available for the Runoff Election. Please consider submitting a declaration of candidacy.

COLLEGE OF HUMANITIES

*Dalila Ayoun *John R Leafgren *Mary Kaitlin Murphy *Caleb Simmons

The above four candidates will be put forward on the Runoff Election ballot to fill the two seats available for Senate Representative. No one person received a majority of the votes cast. These two candidates will not be put forward: Courtney Friesen Joshua Schlachet

COLLEGE OF LAW *Mona Hymel

COLLEGE OF MEDICINE – TUCSON

*Paul R Gordon *Benjamin Lee

One seat remains vacant. One seat will be available for the Runoff Election. Please consider submitting a declaration of candidacy.

COLLEGE OF MEDICINE – PHOENIX

*Kenneth S Knox

COLLEGE OF SOCIAL AND BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES

*Leila Hudson *John Paul Hurh *Kristin Little William Cochran David Cuillier Joel Smith

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES *Cheryl Cuillier Joseph Diaz

COLLEGE NURSING

There were no candidates.

One seat remains vacant. One seat will be available for the Runoff Election. Please consider submitting a declaration of candidacy.

COLLEGE OF OPTICAL SCIENCES *Stanley Pau

COLLEGE OF PHARMACY *Janet Cooley

COLLEGE OF PUBLIC HEALTH

There were no candidates.

One seat remains vacant. One seat will be available for the Runoff Election. Please consider submitting a declaration of candidacy.

COLLEGE OF APPLIED SCIENCES (FORMERLY UA SOUTH) *Kyle Diroberto

*Kyle Diroberto Odile Wolf Due to a tie vote, the Elections Committee drew a lot by coin toss to determine the winner on February 25, 2020.

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE *Indraneel Ghosh

*Indraneel Ghosh *Johann Rafelski *Jeffrey Stone