

FACULTY CENTER

1216 E. Mabel Street Tucson, AZ 85721-0456

Tel: 520.621.1342 Fax: 520.621.8844

facultycenter@email.arizona.edu

University of Arizona Grievance Clearinghouse Committee 2019-2020 Annual Report

Committee Members

Dr. Dalila Ayoun Chair, CAFT

Dr. Dian Li Vice-Chair, CAFT (Non-voting)
Dr. Kristen Klotz Office of Institutional Equity

Dr. John Leafgren Faculty Senator

Dr. Gayatri Vedantam Chair, Committee on Conciliation

Dr. James Watson Chair, University Committee on Ethics and Commitment

Mission

The Grievance Clearinghouse Committee shall be the faculty committee that accepts faculty members' written requests for grievance hearings and which determines which committee (Conciliation, Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure, University Committee on Ethics and Commitment) or process (Office of Institutional Equity) should consider a grievance.

Petitions

The Committee reviewed two petitions in the 2019-2020 academic year:

- A complaint from a faculty member was received on November 26, 2019. The
 Committee requested supplemental information, but ultimately concluded that the
 grievance could not be heard because the appeal had been filed past the 30-day
 deadline and there was no UHAP violation.
- A complaint from a faculty member was received on September 9, 2019
 regarding the actions of a supervisor. The committee declined to take action
 because the bases for the complaint did not fall under the purview of any of the
 University grievance committees and offices, namely GCC, OIE, Conciliation,
 and CAFT.

The Chair is grateful for the work and expertise of GCC members, all of whom volunteer their time to serve on this important shared governance committee.

Respectfully submitted,

Dalila Ayoun, Chair Grievance Clearinghouse Committee