

FACULTY CENTER

1216 East Mabel Street PO Box 210456 Tucson, AZ 85721

Ofc: 520-621-1342 Fax: 520-621-8844

facultygovernance.arizona.edu

Committee on Faculty Membership

2021-2022 Annual Report

Members:

Mr. Michael Brewer, CHAIR, Secretary of the Faculty

Dr. Dana Narter, SBS

Dr. Dan McDonald, CALS

Dr. Andrea Romero, ex officio/non-voting

Dr. Judd Ruggill, COH

Our committee conducted our work over email this year.

Last year, an updated practice document for elections was developed that includes the Chair ensuring that all Members of the General Faculty are assigned an appropriate Vote Code prior to any election. This process was followed this year, with the chair updating or adding new faculty vote codes, as needed, 5-6 times during the year (including just prior to both elections).

There was an unusually large influx of new members into the General Faculty this year, primarily due to a large number of retired faculty being granted emeritus status retroactively.

Some irregularities were identified in the Census in the first days of the elections in late January. After review, the issue was found to have originated in units making coding errors in UAccess (due to a change in the interface) and not to the report that generates the Census. These errors were quickly identified and resolved.

The Chair created a description on the elections webpage of how the criteria for membership in the General Faculty are applied in the report that uses UAccess data to generate the Census.

The Chair also created an online form where faculty may petition the Committee on Faculty Membership if they feel they meet the criteria but are not showing up in the Census.

No petitions for Membership in the General Faculty had to be reviewed by the Committee this year.

Respectfully submitted

Michael Brewer, Chair Committee on Faculty Membership