THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA_® General Faculty *Primary* Election, Spring 2017

NOMINATING INSTRUCTIONS

The Committee on Elections is conducting the Spring 2017 Primary Faculty Election in accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the General Faculty of the University of Arizona.

- 1. Nominating petitions will be available through the close of business on Friday, January 27, 2017.
- 2. Completed nominating petitions must be returned to the Faculty Center, 1216 E. Mabel St. (PO Box 210456), **by 5:00 P.M. Friday, January 27, 2017.**
- 3. Nominees are requested to submit an electronic statement, not to exceed 150 words, by email to facultycenter@email.arizona.edu describing their reasons for seeking office. These statements will be used for publicity purposes and are provided with the announcement of the online election.
- 4. Only members of the General Faculty may be nominated, or nominate themselves for Faculty Senator-at-Large, Committee of Eleven, Nominating Committee, or Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee (SPBAC).
- 5. The person being nominated must **sign** the consent form in order for the nominating petition to be valid.
- 6. Only signatures of members of the General (voting) Faculty are valid on nominating petitions.
- 7. No fewer than **twenty** valid signatures are required on petitions for Faculty Senator-at-Large, Committee of Eleven, Nominating Committee and the Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee (SPBAC).
- 8. All members of the General Faculty are eligible for nomination to the Faculty Senate and Nominating Committee with the following exceptions:
 - A. Ineligible as Faculty Senators-at-Large because they are College Representative Faculty Senators through May 31, 2018:

Melanie Bell Lehman Benson James Cook Nancy Driscoll Cheryl Cuillier Roger Dahlgran Indraneel Ghosh Phillip Guertin Wolfgang Fink Ronald Hammer Melanie Hingle Paul Hurh Mona Hymel Lauri Johnson Joseph Labate John Leafgren Marie-Pierre Le Hir Wei Lin Paul Myrdal William Neumann Diane Ohala Stanley Pau Daisy Pitkin Leslie Ritter Robert Schon Marvin Slepian **Brad Story** Andrew Yeager Rose Ylimaki

B. Ineligible as candidates for the Nominating Committee because they are currently members and are not eligible for consecutive terms or are continuing to serve through 5/18 or 5/19.

Alex Braithwaite Kacey Ernst Elizabeth Schauer Ping Situ Nathaniel Smith Donald Traut

All terms shall begin 6/1/17 except SPBAC. The two-year terms for Faculty Senate and Committee of Eleven end 5/31/19. The three-year terms for the Nominating Committee shall end 5/31/20. SPBAC's three-year terms begin 7/1/17 and end 6/30/20.

COMMITTEE ON ELECTIONS, 2016-17

Dr. Roger Dahlgran, CHAIR, Agricultural-Resource Economics
Dr. Alex Braithwaite, Government & Public Policy
Dr. Ahlam Saleh, AZ Health Sciences Library