THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA General Faculty General Election, Spring 2020 DECLARATION OF CANDIDACY INSTRUCTIONS

The Committee on Elections is conducting the Spring 2020 General Faculty Election in accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the General Faculty of the University of Arizona.

- 1. Declaration of Candidacy will be available online (https://facultygovernance.arizona.edu/faculty-elections) on Monday, January 13, 2020.
- 2. Completed Declaration of Candidacy must be submitted by 5:00 P.M. MST Friday, January 24, 2020.
- 3. A candidate statement must be submitted for each seat declared. Any declarations received without an accompanying candidate statement will be disqualified.
- 4. Only members of the General Voting Faculty may declare candidacy for Chair of the Faculty, Vice Chair of the Faculty, Secretary of the Faculty, Faculty Senate College Representative, Committee of Eleven, Nominating Committee, or Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Council (SPBAC).
- 5. The person declaring candidacy must affirm their eligibility for selected office and willingness to hold the office in order to be valid.
- 6. Electronic or hard-copy signatures shall be acceptable.
- 7. All members of the General Faculty are eligible to declare candidacy to the Faculty Senate and Nominating Committee with the following exceptions:
 - A. Ineligible as Faculty Senate College Representative because they are Faculty Senators At-Large through May 31, 2021:

Abraham Acosta Ali Behrangi Carine Bourget Rachel Castro Sonia Colina Xiquan Dong Jeremy Frey Ron Hammer Javier Duran John Hildebrand Maliaca Oxnam Katherine Hiller Alice Min Simpkins Moises Paiewonsky **Denis Provencher** Judd Ruggill Joellen Russell Roy G. Spece Jr. Gayatri Vedantam Marlys Witte

B. Ineligible as candidates for the Nominating Committee because they are currently members and are not eligible for consecutive terms or are continuing to serve through 5/21 or 5/22:

Jeremy Frey Melanie Hingle Paula Johnson Benjamin Lee Moises Paiewonsky Ping Situ

All terms shall begin 6/1/20. The two-year terms for Faculty Senate ends 5/31/22. The three-year terms for the Nominating Committee shall end 5/31/23.

COMMITTEE ON ELECTIONS, 2019-2020

Dr. Sydney Pettygrove, **CHAIR**, Epidemiology & Biostatistics Dr. Ryan Shin, School of Art Ms. Kayle Skorupski, Nutritional Sciences