

Freedom and Tenure

FACULTY CENTER

1216 E. Mabel Street Tucson, AZ 85721-0456

Tel: 520.621.1342 Fax: 520.621.8844

facultycenter@email.arizona.edu

THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure Annual Report, 2017-2018

CAFT Members, 2017-18

Committee Members

Dr. Matthew Abraham, Chair	English		SBS
Dr. Dante Lauretta, Vice Chair Lunar	& Planetary Laboratory	COS	
Dr. Jennifer Duan	Civil Engineering		ENGR
Mr. Shaun Esposito	Law		LAW
Ms. Deanna Fitzgerald	Theatre/Film & Television		COFA
Dr. Jennifer Jenkins	English		SBS
Dr. Fabio Lanza	History		SBS
Dr. Diane Li	East Asian Studies		COH
Dr. John Milbauer	Music		CFA
Ms. Monica Pastor	Maricopa County Office	CALS	
Dr. Stephen Poe	Ag-Biosystems Engineering		COA
Dr. Jerzy Rozenblit	Electrical & Computer Engineering		ENGR

Mission Statement

The Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure shall have jurisdiction to make inquiry and to conduct hearings in two general areas contained in ABOR 6-201 and 6-301, namely: in regard to those matters contained in the Conditions of Service dealing with the contractual employment relationship between the General Faculty member and the University /Board of Regents; and in regard to any internal matters relating to grievances against or by any member of the General Faculty. The committee shall consider the protection of academic freedom and tenure as a principal obligation. (Certain preliminary steps for dismissal situations are described in Chapters 3 and 4 of the *University Handbook for Appointed Personnel* and Sections 6-201 and 6-301 of the *University Handbook for Appointed Personnel* and Sections 6-201 and 6-301 of the *Personnel Regents Policy Manual*.)

Hearings

The Committee received one petitions in the 2017-18 academic year:

• An appeal of denial of Tenure complaint by an associate professor without tenure based on due process violations was filed with the Faculty Center and was forwarded to CAFT. A CAFT hearing will be held in May 2018 on the matter of whether the tenure review took place in compliance with procedural and substantive due process as outlined in the University Handbook for Appointed Personnel (UHAP) 3.3.02e.

The Chair is grateful for the time and effort of CAFT members, all of whom volunteer for service on this important faculty rights committee.

Respectfully submitted,

Matthew Abraham, Ph.D.

Mathen alnahan

Chair, CAFT (2017-2018)